Home > News


Congratulations to BMES student on winning People's Choice Award

The National Academy of Engineering awarded the “People’s Choice” award to UCSD Biomedical Students. The contest was on videos celebrating the 50th anniversary of the NAE. The Biomedical Engineering Society(BMES) at UC San Diego received $5,000. The video was displayed at IEM's Advisory Board Meeting held on September 24, 2014.


UC San Diego Neonatal Neurologist Awarded Grant from The Hartwell Foundation

MJ Harbert, MD, assistant clinical professor in the Department of Neurosciences at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine, has been named a recipient of an Individual Biomedical Research Award by The Hartwell Foundation for her project “Brain Activity During Birth for Prediction of Newborns at Risk for Brain Injury.” The award will support Harbert’s research in the field of neonatal neurology for three years at $100,000 per year.

Harbert is the director of the UC San Diego neonatal neurology service, which serves newborns with,...

Bioprinting a 3D Liver-Like Device to Detoxify the Blood

Nanoengineers at the University of California, San Diego have developed a 3D-printed device inspired by the liver to remove dangerous toxins from the blood. The device, which is designed to be used outside the body -- much like dialysis – uses nanoparticles to trap pore-forming toxins that can damage cellular membranes and are a key factor in illnesses that result from animal bites and stings, and bacterial infections. Their findings were published May 8 in the journal Nature Communications.

Nanoparticles have already been shown to be effective at...

Celebrating the 20th Anniversary of UCSD Department of Bioengineering

On April 11th, members of the UCSD community gathered to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of the Department of Bioengineering, which was founded in 1994. Albert P. Pisano, Dean of the Jacobs School of Engineering, provided introductory remarks to kick-off the event, followed by a welcome by the Chair of Bioengineering, Geert Schmid-Schoenbein. Professors Shu Chien, Shankar Subramanian, Gabriel Silva, Karen Christman and Todd Coleman recounted the history of the department over the past twenty years.

The event was attended by faculty, students and staff...