IEM Boards and Committees

Learn more about the Institute's Advisory Boards and Executive Committees

Advisory Board

IEM Advisory Board

Members in the individual Centers meet frequently to discuss progress and planning. In addition, the IEM holds town hall meetings of its members. Directors of the IEM Centers meet periodically to exchange information and to foster collaborations among the Centers.

The IEM holds annual meetings of its Advisory Committee composed of extramural leaders in industry and private sector and intramural faculty and administrative leaders to report its progress and receive advices for the improvement of its activities.  IEM Advisory Board provides advice on direction and strategy, research needs and advice on funding.

Industry

Name Position Company Email
John Dobak President JAKK Group, Inc. jdobak@jakkgroup.com
Peter Farrell Chairman & CEO ResMed Inc. peter.farrell@resmed.com
Stephen Flaim Advisor von Liebig Center sflaim1@san.rr.com
Michael Hostetler Attorney at Law Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati mhostetler@wsgr.com
Irwin Jacobs Cofounder Qualcomm ijacobs@qualcomm.com
Gregory McKee Chief Executive Officer CONNECT GMcKee@connect.org
Diego Miralles Head, West Coast Research Center, Head, Janssen Healthcare Innovation, J&J Pharmaceutical R&D J&J Pharmaceutical R&D dmirall2@its.jnj.com
Joe Panetta President and CEO BIOCOM jpanetta@biocom.org
Tony Ratcliffe President and CEO Synthasome anthonyratcliffe@synthasome.com
Drew Senyei Managing Director Enterprise Partners Venture Capital dsenyei@epvc.com
Bhasker Shetty VP, Pharmacokinetics, Dynamics & Metabolism Pfizer R&D bhasker.shetty@pfizer.com

UCSD

Name Position Department Email
William Bradley Professor and Chair Radiology wgbradley@ucsd.edu
Sandra Brown Vice Chancellor VC-Research sandrabrown@ucsd.edu
Bryan Clary Professor and Chair Surgery bclary@ucsd.edu
Wolfgang Dillmann Professor and Chair Medicine wdillmann@ucsd.edu
Jack Dixon Dean Scientific Affairs, School of Medicine jedixon@ucsd.edu
Gary Firestein Professor gfirestein@ucsd.edu
William Freeman Professor Ophthalmology wrfreeman@ucsd.edu
Lawrence Goldstein Professor CMM lgoldstein@ucsd.edu
Ralph Greenspan Professor Biological Sciences rgreenspan@ucsd.edu
Gabriel Haddad Professor and Chair Pediatrics ghaddad@ucsd.edu
Jean Ford Keane Assoc Vice Chan Health Sciences j6ford@ucsd.edu
Miroslav Krstic Associate Vice Chancellor Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
mkrstic@ucsd.edu
Scott Lippman Director/Professor Moores Cancer Center slippman@ucsd.edu
James Mckerrow Dean Sch Pharm/Pharm Sci jmckerrow@ucsd.edu
Teri Melese Vice Chancellor VC-Research tmelese@ucsd.edu
Alexander Norbash Professor and Chair Radiology norbash@bu.edu
Albert Pisano Dean-Jacobs Sch Engr Mechanical/Aerospace Engineering appisano@ucsd.edu
Ramesh Rao Director Calit2 rrao@ucsd.edu
Paul Roben Assoc Vice Chan Innovation & Commercialization pwroben@ucsd.edu
Geert Schmid-Schonbien Chair/Professor Bioengineering gschmid@ucsd.edu
Palmer Taylor Professor School of Pharmacy/Pharmaceutical Science pwtaylor@ucsd.edu
Susan Taylor Professor Chemistry & Biochemistry staylor@ucsd.edu
Miwako Waga Director VC-Research mwaga@ucsd.edu
Robert Weinreb Chairman/Professor Ophthalmology rweinreb@ucsd.edu

Center Directors

Name Position Department Email
Adah Almutairi Associate Professor Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sci. aalmutairi@ucsd.edu
Michael Berns Adjunct Professor Bioengineering
mberns@ucsd.edu
Ju Chen Professor Radiology juchen@ucsd.edu
Shaochen Chen Professor Nanoengineering shc064@ucsd.edu
Todd Coleman Associate Professor Bioengineering tpcoleman@ucsd.edu
Sylvia Evans Professor Pharmacy syevans@ucsd.edu
William Freeman Professor Ophthalmology wrfreeman@ucsd.edu
David Gough Professor Bioengineering dgough@ucsd.edu
David Hall Associate Professor Radiology djhall@ucsd.edu
Stephen Howell Professor Moores Cancer Center showell@ucsd.edu
Tzyy-Ping Jung Research Scientist Institute for Neural Computation tpjung@ucsd.edu
Ratneshwar Lal Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering rlal@ucsd.edu
Juan Lasheras Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering lasheras@ucsd.edu
Klaus Ley Division Head and Professor La Jolla Institute for Allergy klaus@liai.org
Andrew McCulloch Professor Bioengineering amcculloch@ucsd.edu
William Mobley Department Chair Neuroscience wmobley@ucsd.edu
Elliot McVeigh Professor Bioengineering emcveigh@ucsd.edu
Victor Nizet Professor Pediatrics
vnizet@ucsd.edu
Kevin Patrick Professor Family and Preventive Medicine kpatrick@ucsd.edu
Gladys Ramos Associate Clinic Professor Reproductive Medicine gramos@ucsd.edu
Robert Ross Professor Medicine rross@ucsd.edu
Maike Sander Professor Pediatrics masander@ucsd.edu
Robert Sah Professor Bioengineering rsah@ucsd.edu
Gabriel Silva Professor Bioengineering gsilva@ucsd.edu
Steven Sparks Associate Physician Surgery s1sparks@ucsd.edu
Joseph Wang Professor/Chair Nanoengineering josephwang@ucsd.edu
Samuel Ward Professor Radiology srward@ucsd.edu
John Watson Director and Professor Bioengineering jtwatson@ucsd.edu
Kang Zhang Professor Ophthalmology k5zhang@ucsd.edu
Liangfang Zhang Professor Nanoengineering l7zhang@ucsd.edu

IEM Director & Associated Directors

Name Position Department Email
Shu Chien University Professor Bioengineering and Medicine shuchien@ucsd.edu
David Cheresh Professor Pathology dcheresh@ucsd.edu
Shankar Subramaniam Professor Bioengineering shsubramaniam@ucsd.edu

Admin

Name Position Department Email
William J. Burfitt Executive Director of Development Development wburfitt@ucsd.edu
Philip Godfrey Management Services Officer IEM phgodfrey@ucsd.edu
Justina Houston Administrative Assistant IEM jhouston@ucsd.edu
Fund Manager IEM

Executive Committee

WCBE Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

WCBE Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

WCBE

The mission of WCBE is to foster and enhance interactions of IEM and the Bioengineering Department with Industry. The Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) provides valuable advice and leadership in enhancing industry liaison and student education and training.  Provide a conduit for student-employer relationships and enhance student professional development WCBE organizes student industrial internships, Breakfast with Industry, Chutes and Ladders for networking with industry, and Bioengineering Day. WCBE works on undergraduate design projects and the Masters of Advanced Studies-Medical Device Engineering program. It organizes student participation at U.S. and San Diego Science and Engineering Festivals and runs the Shared Cell Engineering Research Core.


Name Title Company LinkedIn
Robert Balderas Vice President / Biological Sciences

Becton, Dickinson and Company

www.linkedin.com/pub/robert-bob-balderas/2/483/896
Walt Baxter Senior Principal Scientist

Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm Disease Management

www.linkedin.com/pub/walt-baxter/1/276/793
James Burke Director of Program Management

Dexcom

www.linkedin.com/in/jamesburkeproddev
Frederick Cahn CEO

BioMedical Strategies

www.linkedin.com/in/fcahn
Iman Famili President

Sinopia Biosciences, Inc.

 

www.linkedin.com/in/imanfamili
Dan Kagan VP Innovation

Assay Depot

 

www.linkedin.com/in/danielrkagan
Raj Krishnan CEO

Biological Dynamics

 

www.linkedin.com/pub/raj-krishnan/b/614/802
Harish Nagarajan Research Scientist I, Computational Technologies

Genomatica

 

www.linkedin.com/pub/harish-nagarajan/a/a5a/110
Lou Obertreis Consulting Manufacturing Engineer

Independent Consultant

 

www.linkedin.com/in/louobertreis
Anthony Ratcliffe President and CEO

Synthasome

 

www.linkedin.com/pub/anthony-ratcliffe/0/705/583
Christopher Rhodes President

Drug Delivery Experts

 

www.linkedin.com/in/christopherarhodes
Joshua Rychak VP for Research

Targeson

 

www.linkedin.com/pub/joshua-rychak/5/a66/469
Christophe Schilling President & Chief Scientific Officer

Genomatica

 

www.linkedin.com/pub/christophe-schilling/0/47a/b69
Mark Title Management Director

Advanced Technology Leadership

 

 

www.linkedin.com/in/marktitle
Greg Williams Senior Product Development Engineering

NuVasive

 

www.linkedin.com/pub/gregory-williams/58/b00/7bb