Skip to main content

Researcher Directory

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

A

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Eric Adler eradler@ucsd.edu  Clinical Professor Medicine CCBI
Sunil Advani sjadvani@ucsd.edu Associate Professor IR Radiation Medicine  CEC
Ludmil Alexandrov l2alexandrov@ucsd.edu  Assistant Professor Cellular & Molecular Medicine
Matthew Allison mallison@ucsd.edu Professor, Division Chief Family Medicine & Public Health
Adah Almutairi aalmutairi@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Pharmaceutical Science VEC, CNME, BMTECBTC 
Marianna Alperin malperin@ucsd.edu Associate Professor OBGYN & Reproductive Sciences CMSR
David Amiel damiel@ucsd.edu Professor Orthopedic Surgery
Michael Andre mandre@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Radiology
Eli Aronoff-Spencer

earonoffspencer@ucsd.edu

Assistant Professor Medicine CMSA
Gaurav Arya garya@ucsd.edu Associate Professor NanoEngineering CEC

TOP

B

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Jinhye Bae j3bae@eng.ucsd.ed Assistant Professor Nanoengineering BMTEC
Won Bae wbae@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Radiology CMSR
Prabhakar "Prab" Bandaru pbandaru@ucsd.edu Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering CEC
Vineet Bafna vbafna@ucsd.edu Professor Computer Science & Engineering CEC
Michael Baker mbaker@ucsd.edu Professor Emeritus Medicine  
Edward Ball tball@ucsd.edu  Director and Chief, BMT UCSD Health CEC
Prabhakar Bandaru pbandaru@ucsd.ed Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering CEC
Andrew Barleben abarleben@ucsd.edu  Assistant Professor Surgery
Kim Barrett kbarrett@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine
Bruce Barshop bbarshop@ucsd.edu Professor Emeritus Pediatrics  
Dirk-Uwe Bartsch dbartsch@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Ophthalmology  
Yuri Bazilevs jbazilevs@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Structural Engineering  
Farhat Beg fbeg@ucsd.edu Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering CEC
Rafael Bejar rabejar@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Medicine CEC
Michael Berns mberns@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Bioengineering BTC 
Sarah Blair slblair@ucsd.edu Clinical Professor Surgery CEC
Cinnamon Bloss cbloss@ucsd.edu  Associate Professor Psychiatry CMSA
Joan Heller Brown jhbrown@ucsd.edu  Professor, Chair Pharmacology CBSEC
Michael Bouvet mbouvet@ucsd.edu Professor Surgery CEC
David Boyle dboyle@ucsd.edu  Professor Medicine CMSR
Francesca Boscolo fboscolo@ucsd.edu  Postdoc Employee OBGYN & Reproductive Sciences CMSR
Nunzio Bottini nbottini@ucsd.edu  Professor Medicine CMSR
Jonathan Bui jdbui@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Neuroscience  

TOP

C

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Pedro J. Cabrales pcabrales@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering
Shengqiang Cai shqcai@ucsd.edu

Associate Professor

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering CMSR, BMTEC
Nigel Calcutt ncalcutt@ucsd.edu Professor Pathology
Edmund Capparelli ecapparelli@ucsd.edu Clinical Professor Pediatrics
Dennis Carson dcarson@ucsd.edu Professor Emeritus Medicine CEC, VEC
Gert Cauwenberghs gcauwenberghs@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering
Laura Cervino lcervino@ucsd.edu Assoc Professor Radiation Medicine and Applied Sciences
Krishnan Chakravarthy kvchakravarthy@ucsd.edu Assistant Clinical Professor Anesthesiology CMSA
Henry Chambers hgchambers@ucsd.edu  Clinical Professor Orthopaedic Surgery CMSR
Theodore "Ted" Chan tcchan@ucsd.edu  Professor Emergency Medicine CMSA
Eric Chang e8chang@ucsd.edu  Clinical Professor Radiology CMSR
Geoffrey Chang g1chang@ucsd.edu  Professor Pharmacology
Edward Chao ecchao@ucsd.edu Associate Clinical Professor Medicine CMDT
Peter Chen pcchen@ucsd.edu Lecturer Bioengineering CMSR
Shaochen Chen shc064@ucsd.edu Professor, Chair  Nanoengineering CECCMSRCNMEBMTEC
Ju Chen juchen@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CBSECCMSR
Renkun Chen rec001@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering CEC
David Cheresh dcheresh@ucsd.edu Distinguished Professor, Vice Chair Pathology
Neil Chi  nchi@ucsd.edu  Professor Medicine CBSEC
Shu Chien shuchien@ucsd.edu Director Institute of Engineering In Medicine CECCMSRBTC
Karen Christman kchristman@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering  CBSEC, VECCNMEBMTECCED
Christine Chung cbchung@ucsd.edu  Professor IR Radiology CMSR
Bryan Clary bclary@ucsd.edu  Professor  Surgery
Todd Coleman tpcoleman@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering CNME
Kimberly Cooper kcooper@ucsd.edu  Assistant Professor Cell & Developmental Biology CMSR
Francisco Contijoch fcontijoch@ucsd.edu  Assistant Professor Bioengineering CCBI
Maripat "Mary" Corr mpcorr@ucsd.edu  Professor Medicine CMSR
John Crawford jrcrawford@ucsd.edu Clinical Professor, Director  Neurosciences, Pediatric Neuro-Oncology CPHCEDCNME
Shane Crotty scrotty@ucsd.edu Professor Division of Vaccine Discovery VEC

TOP

D

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Anders Dale  amdale@ucsd.edu  Professor  Neurosciences 
Antonio De Maio ademaio@ucsd.edu Vice Chair Surgery
Arshad Desai abdesai@ucsd.edu  Professor  Cellular & Molecular Medicine
Neal Deveraj ndevaraj@ucsd.edu  Professor  Chemistry/Biochemistry
Colin Depp cdepp@ucsd.edu  Professor IR Psychiatry  CMSA
Wolfgang Dillmann wdillmann@ucsd.edu Chair Medicine CBSEC
Jack Dixon jedixon@ucsd.edu  Professor Pharmacology 
Steven Dowdy sdowdy@ucsd.edu  Professor  Cellular & Molecular Medicine
Jiang Du jiangdu@ucsd.edu  Professor  Radiology CMSR
James Vincent Dunford jdunford@ucsd.edu Professor Emeritus Emergency Medicine

TOP

E

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Robert Engler rengler@ucsd.edu Professor Emeritus Medicine
Adam Engler aengler@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Bioengineering

CECCNME, CBSEC, BMTEC, CMSR

Sadik Esener sesener@ucsd.edu Professor Nanoengineering CECBTC 
Sylvia Evans syevans@ucsd.edu Professor School of Pharmacy CBSEC

TOP

F

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Shaya Fainman fainman@ece.ucsd.edu Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering CEC
Gary Firestein gfirestein@ucsd.edu Director Clinical and Translational Research Insitute CMSR
Stephanie Fraley sifraley@eng.ucsd.ed Associate Professor  Bioengineering  BMTEC, CEC, CMDT, IGE, WCBE
Lawrence Frank lfrank@ucsd.edu Co-Director National Skeletal Muscle Research Center CMSR
Kelley Frazer kafrazer@ucsd.edu Professor Pediatrics CBSEC,CED
William Freeman wrfreeman@ucsd.edu Director Jacobs Retina Center

Theodore Friedmann tfriedmann@ucsd.edu Professor Pediatrics
James Friend jfriend@ucsd.edu  Professor  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Xiang-Dong Fu xdfu@ucsd.edu Professor Cellular and Moleular Medicine CEC

TOP

G

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Fred Gage gage@salk.edu Adjunct Professor Neurosciences
Pradipta Ghosh prghosh@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine, Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Mark Ginsberg mhginsberg@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine VEC
Christopher Glass ckg@ucsd.edu Professo Cellular And Molecular Medicine
Guennadi V Glinskii gglinskii@ucsd.edu Research Scientist Institute of Engineering In Medicine
Lawrence S.B. Goldstein goldsteinadmin@ucsd.edu Distinguished Professor Cellular And Molecular Medicine
David Gough dgough@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering CMDT, CED
Barry Greenberg bgreenberg@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CBSEC
Ralph Greenspan rgreenspan@ucsd.edu Professor Neurobiology CANE

TOP

H

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Gabriel Haddad ghaddad@ucsd.edu Chair Pediatrics CPH
David Hall djhall@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Radiology CNMEBTC 
Drew A. Hall dahall@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering CMDT, CMSA
Olivier Harismendy oharismendy@ucsd.edu Assistant Adjunct Professor Medicine CEC
Alan Hargens ahargens@ucsd.edu Professor Orthopaedic Surgery CMSR
Jeff Hasty hasty@ucsd.edu Professor Molecular Biology
Michael Heller mheller@ucsd.edu Professor Emeritus Bioengineering CECBTCCNME
Robert Hoffman rhoffman@ucsd.edu Professor Surgery CEC
Carl Hoh ckhoh@ucsd.edu Chief Nuclear Medicine
Santiago Horgan  shorgan@ucsd.edu  Clinical Professor Surgery  CMDT
Stephen Howell showell@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Jeannie Huang jshuang@ucsd.edu  Associate Professor Pediatrics CMSA
Jan Hughes-Austin jhughesaustin@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor in Residence Orthopedic Surgery CMSR

TOP

I

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Trey Ideker tideker@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Marcos Intaglietta mintaglietta@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering VEC
Paul Insel pinsel@ucsd.edu Professor Pharmacology CEC

TOP

J

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Sonia Jain sojain@ucsd.edu Professor  Family and Preventive Medicine
Catriona Jamieson cjamieson@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Medicine CEC
Terry Jernigan tjernigan@ucsd.edu Professor Cognitive Science
Dilip Jeste djeste@ucsd.edu  Distinguished Professor  Psychiatry CMSA
Sungho Jin sujin@ucsd.edu  Professor Emeritus  Mechanical/Aerospace Engineering CNME
Tzyy-Ping Jung tpjung@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Biomedical Engineering  CANE

TOP

K

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Christopher Kane ckane@ucsd.edu Professor Surgery CEC
Michael Karin mkarin@ucsd.edu Professor Pharmacology CEC
Boubacar Kante bkante@ece.ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dan S. Kaufman dskaufman@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Paul J. Kim  pjk017@ucsd.edu Assistant Clinical Professor  Medicine  VEC
Thomas Kipps tkipps@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Richard Klemke rklemke@ucsd.edu Professor Pathology
Rob Knight rknight@ucsd.edu  Professor  Pediatrics, Computer Science & Engineering
Miroslav Krstic mkrstic@ucsd.edu  Associate Vice Chancellor, Professor Mechanical/Aerospace Engineering 
David Krummen dkrummen@ucsd.edu Assistant Clinical Professor Medicine CBSEC
Sergei Krasheninnikov skrasheninnikov@ucsd.edu Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering CEC
Andrew Kummel akummel@ucsd.edu Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry CEC
Razelle Kurzrock rkurzrock@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC

TOP

L

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Louise Laurent  llaurent@ucsd.edu  Professor Medicine BMTEC
Hyam Leffert hleffert@ucsd.edu Professor Pharmacology
Wilbur Lew wlew@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CBSEC
Klaus Ley klaus@liai.org Head Division of Inflammation Biology VEC
Julie Li jli@bioeng.ucsd.edu Project Scientist Institute of Engineering in Medicine 
Scott M. Lippman slippman@ucsd.edu Director Moores Cancer Center CEC
Irene Litvan ilitvan@ucsd.edu Professor Neurosciences CEC
Thomas Liu ttliu@ucsd.edu Professor Radiology VEC
John Liu joliu@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Ophthalmology
Yu-Hwa Lo ylo@ucsd.edu Professor Electrical & Computer Engineering CECBTCCNME
Kenneth "Ken" Loh kjloh@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Structural Engineering CMSA
Andrew Lowy alowy@ucsd.edu Professor Surgery CEC
Shaoying "Kathy" Lu kalu@ucsd.edu Project Sci Bioengineering

TOP

M

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Alison Marsden amarsden@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering CBSECCMDT
Andrew McCulloch amcculloch@ucsd.edu Distinguished Professor Bioengineering CBSECBMTEC
James H. McKerrow jmckerrow@ucsd.edu Dean Skaggs School of Pharmacy
Elliot McVeigh emcveigh@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering CTI
Patrick Mercier pmercier@ucsd.edu  Assistant Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
Christian M. Metallo cmetallo@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Bioengineering CEC, CED
Yury Miller yumiller@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine
William Mobley wmobley@ucsd.edu Chair Neurosciences CANEBTC 
Thomas Moore trmoore@ucsd.edu Dean/Clinical Affairs Medicine CPH
Tania Morimoto tkmorimoto@eng.ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Robert Myers rmyers@ucsd.edu Assoc Professor Orthopaedic Surgery

TOP

N

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Camille Nebeker  nebeker@ucsd.edu Associate Adjunct Professor Family Medicine & Public Heatlh CMSA
Thomas Nelson tnelson@ucsd.edu Professor Radiology
Quyen T Nguyen  q1nguyen@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Surgery CEC
Sanjay Nigam snigam@ucsd.edu Professor Pediatrics
Vishal Nigam vnigam@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Pediatrics CBSECCMDT
Victor Nizet vnizet@ucsd.edu Professor Pediatrics VEC
Alexander Norbash anorbash@ucsd.edu Professor Radiology

TOP

O

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Lucila Ohno-Machado machado@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Jeff Omens jomens@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine BMTEC

TOP

P

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Bernhard Palsson bpalsson@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering
Mana Parast mparast@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Pathology
Kellog Parsons k0parsons@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Surgery CEC
Giovanni Paternostro giovanni@burnham.org Assistant Adjunct Professor Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute
Kevin Patrick kpatrick@ucsd.edu Professor Family and Preventive Medicine CMSA
Pavel Pevzner ppevzner@ucsd.edu Professor Computer Science & Engineering CEC
James Perry jperry@rchsd.org Director Electrophysiology and Adult Congenital Heart Programs CBSEC
Bjoern Peters bjp018@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Center for Infectious Disease VEC
Albert P. Pisano deanpisano@eng.ucsd.edu Dean Jacobs School of Engineering CEC
Steven Plaxe splaxe@ucsd.edu Professor Reproductive Medicine
Frank Powell fpowell@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine and Physiology
Jeff Price jprice@burnham.org Associate Professor Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute
Kim Prisk kprisk@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Medicine

TOP

Q

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center

TOP

R

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Sonia Ramamoorthy sramamoorthy@ucsd.edu  Clinical Professor Surgery CMDT
Padmini Rangamani padmini.rangamani@eng.ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Ramesh Rao rrao@ucsd.edu Director Cal Inst For Telecommunications & Information Tech
Tony Reid trreid@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Tannishtha Reya treya@ucsd.edu Professor Pharmacology CEC
Paul Roben

 

Michael "Geoff" Rosenfeld mrosenfeld@ucsd.edu 

Distinguished Professor 

Endocrinology 
Robert Ross rross@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CBSEC
Allen Ryan afryan@ucsd.edu Professor Surgery

TOP

S

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Robert Sah rsah@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering CMSRBMTEC
Michael Sailor

msailor@ucsd.edu

Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry CECCNME
Maike Sander masander@ucsd.edu Professor Pediatrics CED
Simon Schenk sschenk@ucsd.edu  Associate Professor Orthopedic Surgery CED, CMSR
Geert Schmid-Schönbein gschmid@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering CEC,VEC
Jan Schnitzer jschnitzer@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Medicine
Sanford Shattil sshattil@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine CEC
Terrence Sejnowski terry@salk.edu Francis Crick Chair Salk Institute
Alex Sette asette@ucsd.edu Center Head; Professor Center for Infectious Disease VEC
Sujan Shresta sujan@liai.org Associate Professor Center for Infectious Disease VEC
John Shyy jshyy@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine
Jason Sicklick jsicklick@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Surgery CEC
Gabriel Silva gsilva@ucsd.edu Co-Director Retinal Engineering Center
Benjamin Smarr bsmarr@ucsd.edu  Assistant Professor Bioengineering, Data Science  CMSA
Steven Sparks s1sparks@ucsd.edu Associate Physician Surgery CMDT
Deborah Spector  dspector@ucsd.edu 

Dist. Professor

School of Pharmaceutical Sciences 
Nicholas Spitzer nspitzer@ucsd.edu Professor Division of Biological Sciences CANE
Nicole Steinmetz nsteinmetz@eng.ucsd.edu Professor Nanoengineering VEC
Shankar Subramaniam shsubramaniam@ucsd.edu Associate Director Bioengineering CEC

TOP

T

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Frank Talke ftalke@ucsd.edu  Professor Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Elaine Tanaka etanaka@ucsd.edu Assistant Clinical Professor Surgery 
Susan Taylor staylor@ucsd.edu Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry
Palmer Taylor pwtaylor@ucsd.edu Professor Pharmacology
Scott Thomson sthomson@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine
JoAnn Trejo jotrejo@ucsd.edu Professor Pharmacology
William Trogler wtrogler@ucsd.edu Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry CEC
Ming Tsuang mtsuang@ucsd.edu University Professor Psychiatry
George Tynan gtynan@ucsd.edu Professor Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

TOP

U

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center

TOP

V

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Daniela Valdez-Jasso dvaldezjasso@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor  Bioengineering CBSEC, WCBE
Shyni Varghese svarghes@ucsd.edu Assoc Professor Bioengineering CECCMSR, CNMEBMTEC
Ajit Varki a1varki@ucsd.edu Professor Cellular And Molecular Medicine
Judith Varner jvarner@ucsd.edu Professor In Residence Pathology BMTEC, CBSEC, CCBI, CEC, IGE
David Vera dvera@ucsd.edu Professor Radiology CEC
Erik Viirre eviirre@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Surgery
Francisco Villareal fvillarr@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine

TOP

W

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Joseph Wang josephwang@ucsd.edu Professor/Chair Nanoengineering CNME, CMSA
Peter Yingxiao Wang yiw015@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Bioengineering CECBTC 
Sam Ward s1ward@ucsd.edu Professor Radiology
John Watson jtwatson@ucsd.edu Professor Bioengineering CBSECCMDT, WCBE
Robert Weinreb rweinreb@ucsd.edu  Chair/Professor  Opthalmology 
John West jwest@ucsd.edu Distinguished Professor Medicine and Physiology
Karl Willert kwillert@ucsd.edu Assoc Professor Cellular And Molecular Medicine CED
Chengbiao Wu chw049@ucsd.edu Adj Assoc Professor Neurosciences  BTC
Richard Wyatt wyatt@scripps.edu Professor Immunology and Microbiology VEC

TOP

X

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Ronghui (Lily) Xu rxu@ucsd.edu Professor Family and Preventive Medicine
Sheng Xu shengxu@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor NanoEngineering CMSA, CMDT

TOP

Y

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Anthony Yaksh tyaksh@ucsd.edu Professor Anthesiology CEC
Jing Yang jiyang@ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Pharmacology CEC
Gene Yeo geneyeo@ucsd.edu Professor  Cellular and Molecular Medicine CANE, CEC, CNME
Michael Yip yip@ece.ucsd.edu Assistant Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
Paul Yu yu@ece.ucsd.edu Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering

TOP

Z

Name Email Title Home Department IEM Affiliated Center
Kenneth Zeger zeger@ucsd.edu Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering CEC
Dong-Er Zhang d7zhang@ucsd.edu Professor Pathology
Kun Zhang kzhang@bioeng.ucsd.edu Assoc Professor Bioengineering CEC
Liangfang Zhang l7zhang@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Nanoengineering CECCNMEBMTECVEC
Binhai Zheng binhai@ucsd.edu Associate Professor Neurosciences
Dan Zhou d2zhou@ucsd.edu Adjunct Professor Pediatrics  
Jiang Zhu Associate Professor Immunology and Microbiology VEC
Michael Ziegler mziegler@ucsd.edu Professor Medicine

TOP