Skip to main content

IEM Boards and Committees

Learn more about the Institute's Advisory Boards and Executive Committees

Advisory Board

IEM Advisory Board

Members in the individual Centers meet frequently to discuss progress and planning. In addition, the IEM holds town hall meetings of its members. Directors of the IEM Centers meet periodically to exchange information and to foster collaborations among the Centers.

The IEM holds annual meetings of its Advisory Committee composed of extramural leaders in industry and private sector and intramural faculty and administrative leaders to report its progress and receive advices for the improvement of its activities.  IEM Advisory Board provides advice on direction and strategy, research needs and advice on funding.


Name Title Company Email
Peter Farrell Chairman & CEO

ResMed Inc.
Michael Hosteler Attorney at Law

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Irwin Jacobs Founding Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Emeritus

Gene Lay President and CEO

Joe Panetta President and CEO

Anthony Ratcliffe  President and CEO Synthasome, Inc
Drew Senyei Managing Director Enterprise Partners Venture Capital
Jay Srirangam Technical Development Team Leader



Name Position Department Email
David Brenner Vice Chancellor and Dean Health Sciences, School of Medicine 
Sandra Brown Vice Chancellor and Distinguished Prof. VC-Research Psychiatry
Bryan Clary Professor and Chair Surgery
Wolfgang Dillmann Professor Emeritus and Former Chair Medicine
Jack Dixon Dean and Dist. Prof.  Scientific Affairs, School of Medicine
Gary Firestein Sr. Assoc. Vice Chancellor, Director,  and Dist. Prof.
Lawrence Goldstein Distinguished Professor CMM
Ralph Greenspan Director and Professor Kavli Institute Biological Sciences
Gabriel Haddad Professor and Chair Pediatrics
Miroslav Krstic Sr. Assoc. Vice Chancellor and Director Research Affairs / Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Scott Lippman Director and Professor Moores Cancer Center
James Mckerrow Dean Sch Pharm/Pharm Sci
Albert Pisano Dean Jacobs School of Engineering
Ramesh Rao Director Calit2
Paul Roben Assoc. Vice Chancellor Innovation & Commercialization
Geert Schmid-Schonbien Professor and Chair Bioengineering
Palmer Taylor Founding and Emeritus Dean School of Pharmacy/Pharmaceutical Science
Susan Taylor Professor Pharmacology
Robert Weinreb Chairman/Professor Ophthalmology

Center Directors

Name Position Department Email
Adah Almutairi Professor Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sci.
Andrew Barleben Assistant Clinical Professor Surgery 
Michael Berns Adjunct Professor Bioengineering
Krishnan V. Chakravarthy Assistant Clinical Professor Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine 
Shaochen Chen Professor Nanoengineering 
Sylvia Evans Professor Pharmacy 
James Friend Professor  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 
David Hall Associate Professor Radiology
Tzyy-Ping Jung Co-Director/Adjunct Professor Institute for Neural ComputationBioengineering 
Louise Laurent Professor 
Scott Lippman Director/Professor Moores Cancer Center, Medicine 
Elliott McVeigh  Professor  Bioengineering 
William Mobley Associate Dean of Neuro Initiatives Neuroscience 
Victor Nizet  Distinguished Professor PediatricsPharmacy 
Alexander Norbash Chair/Professor  Radiology 
Robert Ross Assistant Vice Chancellor/ Professor Health Sciences, Medicine 
Robert Sah Professor Bioengineering 
Maike Sander Director / Professor Pediatric Diabetes Research Center, Pediatrics  
Frank Talke  Chair / Professor  CMRR, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering 
Joseph Wang Chair / Distinguished Prof. Jacobs School of Engineering, Nanoengineering  
Sam Ward  Vice Chairman Orthopaedic Surgery 
John Watson Professor Bioengineering 
Liangfang Zhang Professor  Nanoengineering 

IEM Director & Associated Directors

Name IEM Affiliation Position Department Email
Andrew McCulloch IEM Director Professor Bioengineering
Karen Christman GEM II Program Director and Associate Director Professor Bioengineering
Colin Depp IEM Education Program Director and Associate Director Professor IR Psychiatry
Deborah Spector GEM Program Director and Associate Director Professor  Cellular & Molecular Medicine


Name Position Department Email
Zachary Smith  Executive Director of Development Jacobs School of Engineering 
Sean Burns  Director of Development Jacobs School of Engineering
Miwako Waga Director of International Outreach VC-Research
Philip Godfrey Management Services Officer IEM
Justina Houston Administrative Assistant IEM
Kinnary Doshi Fund Manager IEM
Catherine Diep  Communications & Office Assistant IEM
Savannah Eljaouhari Social Media & Marketing Assistant IEM seljaouhari@ucsd.ed

WCBE Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

WCBE Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

UC San Diego Bioengineering Jacobs School of EngineeringWCBE

The mission of WCBE is to foster and enhance interactions of IEM and the Bioengineering Department with Industry. The Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) provides valuable advice and leadership in enhancing industry liaison and student education and training.  Provide a conduit for student-employer relationships and enhance student professional development WCBE organizes student industrial internships, Breakfast with Industry, Chutes and Ladders for networking with industry, and Bioengineering Day. WCBE works on undergraduate design projects and the Masters of Advanced Studies-Medical Device Engineering program. It organizes student participation at U.S. and San Diego Science and Engineering Festivals and runs the Shared Cell Engineering Research Core.

Name Position Company Email
Julio Baez Biologicals Technology Leader Cipla Ltd.
Robert Balderas Vice President / Biological Sciences BD Biosciences
Walt Baxter Senior Principal Scientist Medtronic, Inc.
James Burke Director of Program Management Dexcom, Inc.
Frederick Cahn CEO BioMedical Strategies
Greg Williams Leader, Biologics and Advanced Materials Science R&D NuVasive, Inc.
Jason Haider Founder and CEO Xenco Medical
Jason Halsey SVP, R&D and Operations Agena Bioscience
Chase Mertz Product Manager Hologic, Inc.
Chris MacDonald Vice President, Operations & Data Science ChromaCode, Inc.
Harish Nagarajan Senior R&D Manager, Systems Biology & Bioinformatics Genomatica
Lou Obertreis Product Manufacturing Engineer Independent
Gustavo Prado Bioengineering  Independent
Anthony Ratcliffe President and CEO Synthasome, Inc.
Peter Teriete CSO and Co-Founder TumorGen
Elaine Ye Project Research Analyst Device of Tomorrow Capital