Skip to main content

IEM Boards and Committees

Learn more about the Institute's Advisory Boards and Executive Committees

Advisory Board

IEM Advisory Board

Members in the individual Centers meet frequently to discuss progress and planning. In addition, the IEM holds town hall meetings of its members. Directors of the IEM Centers meet periodically to exchange information and to foster collaborations among the Centers.

The IEM holds annual meetings of its Advisory Committee composed of extramural leaders in industry and private sector and intramural faculty and administrative leaders to report its progress and receive advices for the improvement of its activities.  IEM Advisory Board provides advice on direction and strategy, research needs and advice on funding.

Industry

Name Title Company Email
Peter Farrell Chairman & CEO

ResMed Inc.

peter.farrell@resmed.com
Michael Hosteler Attorney at Law

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

mhostetler@wsgr.com
Irwin Jacobs Founding Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Emeritus

Qualcomm

ijacobs@qualcomm.com
Gene Lay President and CEO

BioLegend

gene@biolegend.com
Joe Panetta President and CEO

BIOCOM

jpanetta@biocom.org
Anthony Ratcliffe  President and CEO Synthasome, Inc anthonyratcliffe@synthasome.com
Drew Senyei Managing Director Enterprise Partners Venture Capital dsenyei@epvc.com
Jay Srirangam Technical Development Team Leader

Genentech

srirangj@gene.com

UCSD

Name Position Department Email
David Brenner Vice Chancellor and Dean Health Sciences, School of Medicine dbrenner@ucsd.edu 
Sandra Brown Vice Chancellor and Distinguished Prof. VC-Research Psychiatry sandrabrown@ucsd.edu
Bryan Clary Professor and Chair Surgery bclary@ucsd.edu
Wolfgang Dillmann Professor Emeritus and Former Chair Medicine wdillmann@ucsd.edu
Jack Dixon Dean and Dist. Prof.  Scientific Affairs, School of Medicine jedixon@ucsd.edu
Gary Firestein Sr. Assoc. Vice Chancellor, Director,  and Dist. Prof.  gfirestein@ucsd.edu
Lawrence Goldstein Distinguished Professor CMM lgoldstein@ucsd.edu
Ralph Greenspan Director and Professor Kavli Institute Biological Sciences rgreenspan@ucsd.edu
Gabriel Haddad Professor and Chair Pediatrics ghaddad@ucsd.edu
Miroslav Krstic Sr. Assoc. Vice Chancellor and Director Research Affairs / Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
mkrstic@ucsd.edu
Scott Lippman Director and Professor Moores Cancer Center slippman@ucsd.edu
James Mckerrow Dean Sch Pharm/Pharm Sci jmckerrow@ucsd.edu
Albert Pisano Dean Jacobs School of Engineering appisano@ucsd.edu
Ramesh Rao Director Calit2 rrao@ucsd.edu
Paul Roben Assoc. Vice Chancellor Innovation & Commercialization pwroben@ucsd.edu
Geert Schmid-Schonbien Professor and Chair Bioengineering gschmid@ucsd.edu
Palmer Taylor Founding and Emeritus Dean School of Pharmacy/Pharmaceutical Science pwtaylor@ucsd.edu
Susan Taylor Professor Pharmacology staylor@ucsd.edu
Robert Weinreb Chairman/Professor Ophthalmology rweinreb@ucsd.edu

Center Directors

Name Position Department Email
Adah Almutairi Professor Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sci. aalmutairi@ucsd.edu
Andrew Barleben Assistant Clinical Professor Surgery abarleben@ucsd.edu 
Michael Berns Adjunct Professor Bioengineering mberns@ucsd.edu
Krishnan V. Chakravarthy Assistant Clinical Professor Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine kvchakravarthy@ucsd.edu 
Shaochen Chen Professor Nanoengineering shc064@ucsd.edu 
David Cheresh Vice Chair/ Distinguished Prof. Pathology dcheresh@ucsd.edu 
Sylvia Evans Professor Pharmacy syevans@ucsd.edu 
James Friend Professor  Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering jfriend@ucsd.edu 
David Gough Professor Bioengineering dgough@ucsd.edu
Tzyy-Ping Jung Co-Director/Adjunct Professor Institute for Neural ComputationBioengineering tpjung@ucsd.edu 
Louise Laurent Professor llaurent@ucsd.edu 
Scott Lippman Director/Professor Moores Cancer Center, Medicine slippman@ucsd.edu 
Andrew McCulloch Director/Professor IEM, Bioengineering amcculloch@ucsd.edu 
Elliot McVeigh Professor Bioengineering emcveigh@ucsd.edu 
William Mobley Associate  Dean of Neuro Initiatives Neuroscience wmobley@ucsd.edu 
Alexander Norbash Chair/Professor  Radiology 
anorbash@ucsd.edu 
Robert Ross Assistant Vice Chancellor/ Professor Health Sciences, Medicine rross@ucsd.edu 
Robert Sah Professor Bioengineering rsah@ucsd.edu 
Maike Sander Director / Professor Pediatric Diabetes Research Center, Pediatrics masander@ucsd.edu  
Shankar Subramaniam Chair / Professor Bioengineering shsubramaniam@ucsd.edu 
Frank Talke  Chair / Professor  CMRR, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering ftalke@ucsd.edu 
Nizet Victor  Vice Chair / Distinguished Prof. Basic Research, Pediatrics vnizet@ucsd.edu 
Joseph Wang Chair / Distinguished Prof. Jacobs School of Engineering, Nanoengineering josephwang@ucsd.edu  
Sam Ward  Vice Chairman Orthopaedic Surgery s1ward@ucsd.edu 
John Watson Professor Bioengineering jtwatson@ucsd.edu 
Liangfang Zhang Professor  Nanoengineering  l7zhang@ucsd.edu 

IEM Director & Associated Directors

Name IEM Affiliation Position Department Email
Andrew McCulloch IEM Director Professor Bioengineering  amculloch@eng.ucsd.edu
Karen Christman GEM II Program Director and Associate Director Professor Bioengineering kchristman@ucsd.edu
Colin Depp IEM Education Program Director and Associate Director Professor IR Psychiatry cdepp@health.ucsd.edu
Deborah Spector GEM Program Director and Associate Director Professor  Cellular & Molecular Medicine

dspector@health.ucsd.edu

Daniela Valdez-Jasso GEMINI Program Director and Associate Director Assistant Professor Bioengineering dvaldezjasso@eng.ucsd.edu

Admin

Name Position Department Email
Zachary Smith  Executive Director of Development Jacobs School of Engineering zksmith@ucsd.edu 
Sean Burns  Director of Development Jacobs School of Engineering sburns@eng.ucsd.edu
Miwako Waga Director of International Outreach VC-Research mwaga@ucsd.edu
Philip Godfrey Management Services Officer IEM phgodfrey@ucsd.edu
Justina Houston Administrative Assistant IEM jhouston@ucsd.edu
Kinnary Doshi Fund Manager IEM kidoshi@ucsd.edu
Catherine Diep  Communications and Office Assistant IEM cdiep@eng.ucsd.edu

WCBE Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

WCBE Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

UC San Diego Bioengineering Jacobs School of EngineeringWCBE

The mission of WCBE is to foster and enhance interactions of IEM and the Bioengineering Department with Industry. The Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) provides valuable advice and leadership in enhancing industry liaison and student education and training.  Provide a conduit for student-employer relationships and enhance student professional development WCBE organizes student industrial internships, Breakfast with Industry, Chutes and Ladders for networking with industry, and Bioengineering Day. WCBE works on undergraduate design projects and the Masters of Advanced Studies-Medical Device Engineering program. It organizes student participation at U.S. and San Diego Science and Engineering Festivals and runs the Shared Cell Engineering Research Core.

Name Position Company Email
Julio Baez Biologicals Technology Leader Cipla Ltd.  julioba@aol.com
Robert Balderas Vice President / Biological Sciences BD Biosciences Robert_Balderas@bd.com
Walt Baxter Senior Principal Scientist Medtronic, Inc. walt.baxter@medtronic.com
James Burke Director of Program Management Dexcom, Inc. jburke@dexcom.com
Frederick Cahn CEO BioMedical Strategies fcahn@biomedicalstrategies.com
Greg Williams Leader, Biologics and Advanced Materials Science R&D NuVasive, Inc. gwilliams@nuvasive.com
Jason Haider Founder and CEO Xenco Medical jhaider@xencomedical.com
Jason Halsey SVP, R&D and Operations Agena Bioscience jason.halsey@gmail.com
Chase Mertz Product Manager Hologic, Inc. Chase.Mertz@hologic.com
Chris MacDonald Vice President, Operations & Data Science ChromaCode, Inc. cmacdonald@chromacode.com
Harish Nagarajan Senior R&D Manager, Systems Biology & Bioinformatics Genomatica hnagarajan@genomatica.com
Lou Obertreis Product Manufacturing Engineer Independent lobertreis@yahoo.com
Gustavo Prado Bioengineering  Independent prado_gustavo@hotmail.com
Anthony Ratcliffe President and CEO Synthasome, Inc. anthonyratcliffe@synthasome.com
Peter Teriete CSO and Co-Founder TumorGen petert@tumorgenmdx.com
Elaine Ye Project Research Analyst Device of Tomorrow Capital maojingy@uci.edu